The New Deal

Perhaps Robert Burns said it best when he mentioned that, “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry!”

I thought I would start off with a explanation of why my blogging project got derailed for almost a year.  Here was plan A, I was to take a few weeks off and then start updating my blog with the zillion or so pictures that either Dad or myself took during our time in Kenya.  I found a great place online that would scan those pictures and take special care of my photographic memories by converting them to a digital form.  After careful research I decided that the company “digmypics” should get my business.  After trying to decide whether to send a few test slides or my whole stash I decided to gamble all my cards in one play and boxed up my collection and shipped them off to Arizona.  Things were going great at first as the good folks from “digmypics” received my slides and started converting my memories to a digital form.  Then as it sometimes does disaster struck!  I was checking on my order and received the news that “digmypics” had burnt to the ground over the weekend!  I will not bore you with the heart-wrenching details but will just say that this company went above and beyond the call of duty and ended up returning approximately 7/8’s of my slides intact and just slightly worse for wear.

I choose this picture to start the year off because it tells several stories.  First, it demonstrates with visual clarity the near miss my memories took during the fire at digmypics.  As a computer geek I spend most of my day telling folks to back up their work unless they are willing to live without it.  I feel fairly certain that had the fire been at my house this and several other priceless memories would not have survived the ordeal.  I cannot stress my thanks enough the the folks at digmypics for their efforts on my behalf.  At the date of this post they are back and in my humble opinion better than ever at “making you smile all over again.”  Go visit the site and read the about page to understand what type of people are still out in the world!  Second, this blog has always been about Mom and the things she said and did during her brief visit to earth.  Mom was the entertainer, she was alway busy making sure that those around her were fed both physically and spiritually.  It looks like she is busy doing what she excelled at, making sure the party went off without a hitch!  Third, this picture shows me hamming it up for the camera.  Since you have seen a video or three of mine many years later I bet you can guess what has not changed over the decades.  By the way I intend to do several video blogs since the new laptop I have comes equipped with a built in camera.  Fourth, since sibling rivalry has no statute of limitations it gives me a great chance to bust on my older brother.  Take a look at those teeth!  Perhaps I will take the opportunity to regale you with that story at another time!  Needless to say I am glad to be back and look forward to all comments

2 Responses to The New Deal

  1. Beverly Curp says:

    These bring back so many memories. Thanks for sharing with us.

  2. Parilee Tidenberg says:

    Kenny, It’s great to get your blog and to have a chance to share in your herald for your mom. She was a great mom, missionary and friend. Looking forward to hearing from you again! Aunt Parilee

Leave a Reply

