March 27th

Tuesday March 27th, 1979
Limuru, Kenya
This morning M.G. and I worked out at the assembly kitchen cutting up our meat.  We had 42 pounds of sausage, 5 roasts, 2 packages of ribs, and several packages of pork chops.  We stopped at 10:30 and went for an hour of Swahili.  After lunch M.G. went for another hour, but I stayed here and put our sausage in the deep freeze.  At 4:30 we left to go to R.V.A.   We took a picnic supper.  I didn’t take much though because I didn’t know soon enough before going plus I was busy with the meat.  Paul Cooley ate with us.  We watched Ken and the others practice Rugby.  Ken was behind most of them with his running.  We brought his weight lifting equipment home with us and some of his clothes.  We had Bible study at the Bodenhamer’s tonight.  M.G. taught it.

In 79 we could no longer hunt and knowing my fondness for bacon Mom and Dad had to kill the fatted pig to feed my habit.  Not exactly, we had just bought a hog and were getting the meat ready for the freezer.  While we did not slaughter the beast one of Dad’s many talents included butchering.  With Mom at his side they made fast work of this swine.

Perhaps the lesson that is understated but repeated throughout these posts is the necessity to just keep on keeping on.  The year is 1979 and Mom and Dad both have been out of language school for several years yet they continued to study the mother tongue of Kenya in order to better communicate God’s love.

Had I known Mom and Dad were coming up for a picnic supper I would have at least tried to make a better showing at rugby practice?  However, Mom was right when she described my running prowess.  I can do the 40 in about 4.2…days that is!  Recently we had a pro-timing day at UT.  I saw them measuring the prospective player’s vertical jump and was amazed at some leaps that measured almost 42 inches.  Spurred on by these examples I decided to measure my own aptitude.  I will not bore you with the details but I am living proof of the statement that “white men can’t jump”.  The players that were watching my efforts said that I had better stick to my day job.  Oh well, I bet when they are in the pros and need someone to fix their computer they won’t be laughing quit so hard.

2 Responses to March 27th

  1. Cindy says:

    I know you love pork fat, but please don’t make me butcher a pig! Babe is one of my favorite movies!

  2. Joyce Bass says:

    I can just see your Mom and Dad busy with this chore. I often ask your Mom and Dad who “won out” on making decisions on how was the pig to be butchered?

Leave a Reply

