January 25th

Tuesday January 25th, 1966
Mombasa, Kenya
This morning I made some brownies to serve at my tea for Mrs. Turner, Mrs. Johnston, Mrs. Jolley, Molly, Dorsie, and Virginia.  I had this for my British neighbors to meet the other missionaries.  After lunch M.G. and I went over to visit the Hunters.  They are leaving for the U.S. in April.  We met some Americans from Omaha, Nebraska who were here visiting.  Their daughter’s husband is with the U.S. Embassy in Nairobi.  We had tea with the Hunters and three ladies from their church.  Tonight we showed Simeon the slides of him that we had made up at Robert’s house.  M.G. and I worked on his office some today.

I guess the apple does not fall far from the tree.  Today’s comments will take the form of a video of the folks that I see every morning before I start my workday.  Of course the major difference is that Mom cooked for her guests and these fine folks that I am introducing usually cook for me and several hundred hungry college students.  Making and keeping friends is one thing that missionaries have to excel at.  I can remember Dad telling me time and time again, “Son, whatever you do in life always learn how to talk with and be nice to the people around you!”

2 Responses to January 25th

  1. Cindy says:

    Good Job!

  2. Rebecca McBride says:

    That takes me back to my college days as well. I still remember all of the ladies that fed me well day after day.

Leave a Reply

