December 29th and 30th

Monday December 29th, 1969
Nairobi, Kenya
This morning John Kasuki ad Kames Boniface (two of the students who finished) came by for a visit.  Then just as they were leaving Jim Anderson came in.  We went to town this afternoon to pick up our pictures for our new passports and they had made the wrong size.  They told us to come back in an hour.  When we came back the electricity had gone off in the building so we didn’t get them after all.  Tonight we went to the movie, “Hello Dolly”.  I didn’t care too much for it.  Jim Anderson spent the night with us.

We had been in Kenya for several years by now and you would think we had accustomed ourselves to the African pace of life.  I know we had been there long enough to recognize when we were being fed a line.  However, we must have assumed that the photo shop was ahead of its time and had just invented the “One Hour” photo experience during our visit.  Had I realized I was experiencing a cutting edge moment in time I would have been a tad more excited.  But, much to the chagrin of Mom and Dad we did not witness the birth of a new technology that day!  We only learned once again about coping in a foreign land in a different culture.

Even though the film critics thought that Streisand and Matthau put in stellar performances and were awarded 3 Oscars for this picture Mom did not like it too much.  I, however, thought that Louis Armstrong did a great job as the orchestra leader and can still remember some of the lyrics to the theme song for the film.

Tuesday December 30th, 1969
Nairobi, Kenya
This morning M.G. and I took Alan to town to buy him some “dress” shoes.  M.G. went to the bank and told Alan and I to go to the Bata store and we got lost.  We finally made it though after walking several blocks.  Jim Anderson was here for lunch.  Later in the afternoon he borrowed our car to go to the doctor.  Tonight we had the Pearce family over and we cooked the shrimp that we brought from the coast.  We renewed our passports today and also had James to stand in line and renew our driver’s license.  He stood from 10 to 2 to get them.

I don’t know why Alan was getting the new shoes but knowing my love for anything remotely dressy I am glad it was him and not me.  I’m not saying that occasionally I like to get dressed up; well maybe I am saying that exact thing.  Because if I ever get my hands on the guy that invented the tie well…

However, I digress and if I go much further I would become lost like my brother and Mom.  This incident would not have occurred if I had been in tow due to my keen sense of direction and constant monitoring of my surroundings. (If my wife comments about a vacation trip pay her no mind!)  

I don’t know if the shrimp dinner was a celebration of completing the passport task or just an excuse to meet with friends.  What I do hope is that James that kind soul that stood in line for 4 hours, got to enjoy the fruits of our coastal cuisine.

Leave a Reply

