December 1st

Wednesday December 1st, 1971
Limuru, Kenya
This morning M.G. and I went into town to grocery shop.  Before I went I made two raspberry pies for tonight.  M.G. had a doctor’s appointment, but upon arrival he found out that she had called here to cancel it due to Dr. Mary being tied up at the hospital.  Then we rushed home to get to Kambaa, but upon arrival, there were no women present.  So we came by the market in Limuru and bought potatoes, carrots, and tomatoes.  Then we went on to Rosslyn to see the softball game, but they had changed it to NIS so we went on there.  We took the Houser’s’ with us for they were spending the night here.

Today’s post is best described by the quote from Robert Burns.  Mom and Dad had a specific set of tasks to do today however it seems that life planned otherwise.  So often I find myself becoming frustrated when things don’t happen exactly the way I want or expect them too.  The next time this feeling creeps up on me and I know it will, I’ll remember how Mom and Dad handled the situation.  They just did what they could do and did not fret over what they could not do.  I am sure Mom was able to be content with the day’s proceedings because she recalled what Paul said about “contented” Christians.  I have heard the statement and believe it to be true that says, “Has it ever occurred to you that nothing ever occurs to God?”

Leave a Reply

