November 14th

 

Monday November 14th, 1977
Limuru, Kenya
This morning after breakfast Manis left to go to his meeting at the assembly.  M.G. worked around at the assembly until lunch time.  Molly Houser came by for awhile.  She rode over to the Tigoni store with me to get a newspaper.  I had Mixon and Susan Cowart and Kim Johnson for lunch.  I had charcoaled steaks, baked potatoes, salad, and banana cream pie.  Tonight M.G. went out to Mirathu to teach the leaders.  We got a letter from Mom today.  She had fed Alan and Jim Davis lunch.  She told me what Alan had on and what he ate.  I loved hearing every word of it.

Dad was always doing something handy around our compound.  He has the great ability to logically think problems through.  I don’t know how much of this trait Alan got but my sweet bride will tell you I am always trying to show her the “logic” of my methods.  You don’t get any prizes for guessing the outcome of most of these discussions.

Mom and Aunt Molly got to share a little girl talk time and I am positive that Alan came up in the conversation.  This was the first birthday that she did not get to help him celebrate.  Once again the mission family steps in to help ease each other over the bumps in the road of life.

Kim Johnson and the Cowart’s score big on lunch today.  Steak and banana cream pie will take the sharp edge off most any hunger I have experienced.

Letters from home were the email of yesteryear.  Although Mom lacked a computer, and would have been baffled by its output, she experienced that lunch time in her mind in minute detail and probably with better clarity that today’s devices could transmit.  A mother’s love once again transcends all boundaries and distances seeking the object of her affection.  Mom shows me yet another time a perfect example of Christ and his love for his children.

One Response to November 14th

  1. Cindy says:

    You do explain the logic of your methods, but remember I get to share the logic of my methods as well. The best soluntion is when we can combine the logics for a successful or sometimes unsuccessful outcome. The tree cutting logic comes to memory. The day you and Daddy cut the tree. It was suppose to fall in the woods, fell on the house. No one was hurt and we had a good laugh.

Leave a Reply

