November 2nd

Wednesday, November 2nd, 1977
Limuru, Kenya
This morning Mrs. Summar finished squeezing the juice from the limes.  I cooked fried chicken, made potato salad, deviled eggs, and cooked some Brussels sprouts (from our garden).  We ate from this at lunch and then took the remainder to R.V.A. for a picnic supper.  Greg West and Tara Bateman ate with us.  It was good to see Ken again.  I forgot to take his clean clothes.  We found out that he was on the honor roll.  We are pleased with the way he is doing in school.  He had a rough copy of his form letter that he was doing in graphic arts class.  It will be a very nice one.

I don’t know if Mrs. Summar is around to read this but I would like to thank her again for squeezing those limes.  The product of her work became the nectar I enjoyed later that day.  Mom could make some mean limeade and when that liquid came into my possession it was not long for this world.

Mom fed the multitudes at lunch and then still had ample for a picnic at the rift.  Mom’s cardinal rule of cooking was never to run out of food.  I can hear her saying now you can always find someone to give the leftovers too.  However if you run out of chow the only thing you gain is a rumbling stomach and crowd.  Since Mom brought food I forgave the absence of my clean clothes.  Truth is told I am a slob and probably did not care that I would have given my wardrobe another rotation.

Ken Duncan made the honor roll!  We are lucky that the fabric of the space-time continuum did not tear on the day this news came out.  School, studies, and I have never had much of a relationship.  Hence the reason I was able to cram 4 years of college into 6 at the University of Tennessee.

This form letter according to Mom and Dad received the best response they had ever gotten during all our years in Kenya.  Well maybe I did ok in graphic arts class even with my study habits.

Leave a Reply

