October 6th

Thursday October 6th, 1966
Mombasa, Kenya
I went to teach my Bible class at the Y.W.C.A. this morning and M.G. went to the primary school for his class.  Afterwards we came by the meat market and tried to buy some bacon.  There has been a shortage of bacon for some time now.  Earl spoke in Chapel today at the high school.  This morning I made some banana bread, and after lunch I made some peanut butter cookies.  For supper I fixed fish, baked potatoes, slaw, and hush puppies.  After church was over Ellen, Sally, Earl, M.G., and I went to the movie, “It’s Never Too Late.”  It was good but odd.

A bacon shortage!  That is suffering for the Lord on the mission field.  It seems the Duncan clan just had to get by on banana bread and peanut butter cookies.  This was all we had to tide us over till the sumptuous supper that Mom had prepared.

Mom classifies a movie as good but odd.  I tried to find some information out about this movie but came up with nothing.  Evidently good, odd, and not around very long either!

One Response to October 6th

  1. Rebecca McBride says:

    Those are my favorite (non-chocolate) cookie! They look so good that I almost licked the screen.

Leave a Reply

