September 24th

Sunday September 24th, 1978
This morning M.G. and I went to church at Gikuni.  We took Michael along to translate into Kikuyu.  We got home about 12:30pm.  We took a nap this afternoon for we stayed up last night listening for the score of the UT and Oregan State game.  When we finally gave up it was 13 to 0 in the 4th quarter.  Tonight we picked up Charlie on the ham and found out that the score was 13 to 13.  Alan missed one field goal and one extra point.  We were sorry to hear this for I know he was upset.  Also, Charlie said that last week he missed one field goal in the U.C.L.A. game. Charlie called out to Clinton and I heard Mom’s voice.  Also, Virgil told us that Alan was on full scholarship.  We were pleased to hear this too.  Virgil said that Alan could use Randy’s car if we didn’t care.

Who would have ever thought that we would need to bring a translator for Dad’s Swahili?  First he is too old to learn Swahili and now he has to have someone translate it into Kikuyu.

We took a nap because we stayed up late.  I don’t think so.  In the Duncan house ever since I can remember Sunday afternoon naps has been an institution.  I can recall getting into hot water on more than one occasion because I was being just a little too loud outside my folks window on Sunday afternoon.  This tradition has been passed on to my family as well.  You are welcome at my home on any other time of the week but do not call between the hours of 1:30pm and 4:30pm on Sunday unless you want to awaken the sleeping dragon!

I guess the only really good news we got from Charlie was hearing from Mamaw and Alan’s receipt of a scholarship.  Why Alan needed use of Cousin Randy’s car I do not know.

One Response to September 24th

  1. Cindy says:

    Thanks for not using my name as the sleeping dragon!

Leave a Reply

