September 23rd

Tuesday September 23rd, 1980
Limuru, Kenya
This morning M.G. and I went to Gikuni.  M.G. taught Bible the first thing then he and Samweli went on into town.  The homemaking teacher was not there that I was supposed to help by teaching them how to make doughnuts.  She had the supplies for me for I had left the list two weeks ago.  I had told her to get yeast, but she had gotten baking powder instead.  I thought this might happen so I took my yeast with me.  I forgot my doughnut cutter so I used a cup and a “White Cap” beer top to cut them out with.  It was very cool today so I had a hard time getting them to rise.  I made about 69 doughnuts.  Station meeting was at our house tonight.  Vance taught the Bible.

Sometimes the best laid plans go awry.  Even though equipped with a list of items the homemaking teacher could not or did not get all the items for Mom’s famous doughnuts.  Mom brought the yeast but left the cutters.  However since living in African teaches independence and ingenuity she was able to procure a suitable cutter in little or no time.  I don’t know if it crossed anyone’s mind as to why a beer bottle was so readily available but we will let that fact remain at rest.  This is just another example of how the devil meant things for evil, (beer in bottle) but God, through his servants used it for good (made 69 doughnut holes).  Sometimes you will find yourself in a position or place where your beliefs will be tested.  Do like Mom did, make the best of a bad situation and produce a sweet treat!

Leave a Reply

