September 1st

Thursday September 1st, 1966
Mombasa, Kenya
We left Nyeri this morning at 8 o’clock.  We stopped in Nairobi and M.G. was able to buy him a gun.  He got a Winchester Model 70 375 H&H magnum for 1100 shillings.  We had gone only about 50 miles beyond Nairobi when our windshield broke.  We were fixing to pass a truck and in just a matter of minutes our view was blocked for the whole windshield turned white.  It gradually fell out almost completely.  Then we got on past Hunters Lodge where we had dinner and had a flat.  It took the attendants over an hour to repair the tire.  As we were driving along Kenny opened the car door to throw out a banana peeling and the suction was terrific with the window broken out.  It really did scare me.  We finally made it home about 8:30pm and was I glad!  The Ogles had left us a drum and two books.

This was Dad’s first gun in Africa.  The other gun he purchased was a double barreled 12 gauge shotgun.  I did not get to shoot the 375 till a later term in Kenya.  Dad did let Alan and I shoot the shotgun but neglected to tell me that the back trigger fired both barrels.  When I picked myself up off the ground and could finally hear Dad he was saying he explained the workings of the “fire” stick to me for the second time.  I did not make that mistake again.

I wish to clarify the rest of the story as Paul Harvey is wont to say.  Dad had told us in very stern terms that we could not roll the windows down in the car after the front windshield went out.  I was six years old so I could not understand the physics involved with backpressure and such.  I had just finished eating a banana and did not want to trash our car so the only option available to me was opening the door.  I did get the banana peel out as well as most of the contents of the back seat when the wind tunnel effect passed through our vehicle.  I also would have been deposited outside if my seatbelt were not securely fastened around my waist.  Lessons learned young stay with you the rest of your life.

One Response to September 1st

  1. Rebecca McBride says:

    I know it wasn’t funny for your parents, but I can’t stop laughing. I can just see the look on your innocent face………What, did I do that????

Leave a Reply

