August 3rd

Tuesday August 3rd, 1971
Limuru, Kenya
This morning M.G. and I went into town.  He went to the bank and I went to the beauty shop to get a permanent.  We had lunch at the Hilton and then I went to the grocery store.  Tonight the Pearce’s had supper with us.  Dirk and the Tidenberg boys spent the night.  We put the tent up and its now 11 o’clock so we wonder how long they will stay in it.  Today Robert asked me to by “his leave”.  I don’t know what this means exactly.

Mom and Dad spend the first part of the day in town doing all the things that as a kid I took for granted.  It was not till I got to college and had to budget my money for food and such that I realized sustenance did not magically appear on the table.

Had Alan, Dirk, the Tidenberg boys, and I been aware of the conversation going on in Mom’s bedroom at 11pm staying out would have been a moot point.  I plan to publish day two tomorrow so you can find out how we survived the evening.

It seems Robert was trying to get some extra cash and work through his vacation days for some reason.

Leave a Reply

