July 27th

Wednesday July 27th, 1966
Mombasa, Kenya
This morning I had M.G. take me to the vegetable market.  Then I waited at the school until he finished his Bible class.  I had Dorsie, Marshall, and their family for lunch.  I had barbequed warthog, mashed potatoes, peas, slaw, cheese muffins, ice tea, coffee, and chocolate cake.  Today was the day for us to go and view Alan’s work at school and to pick up his grades.  His teacher said that he was doing fine except for being careless.  At 5 o’clock Alan and Ken went to a birthday party at some British friend’s house.  When we went to pick them up, they kept insisting that we have a drink.  Marshall and I politely declined.

I wonder if I can find the recipe for barbequed warthog.  I would bet Buddy’s BBQ would be willing to put it on the menu.

Looks like Alan had a banner day at school except for that “careless” remark.  Alan always was a quick learner.  Even today he can remember faces and names much better that me.

Christ calls us to live in the world but not be of the world.  Some of our friend’s in Mombasa could never understand why we did not want to join them for drinks.  When Mom and Dad accepted the call to missions they placed themselves under some very strict guidelines.  Dad has always told us kids that it is hard to tell someone about the bread of life with a drink in your hand.  Had I not followed this “no drinking” policy I am sure I would have gotten into much more trouble growing up.  I guess it is a good thing that “the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.”

Leave a Reply

