July 24th

 

Sunday July 24th, 1966
Mombasa, Kenya
We went to S.S. and church this morning.  We picked up Shelia and Ellen for church.  Shelia had spent the week-end with Ellen.  After the service was over and we were all bowing our heads for the piano postlude Ken went over to his Dad and began to talk.  M.G. scolded him not knowing what he was trying to say.  Ken was saying to him, “I want Jesus to come into my heart.”  M.G. took him aside and told him that he was sorry to have scolded him for saying this.  On the way home from church tonight Ken said, “Mama isn’t it nice that you have two sons who are Christians.”  We are not sure that he understands just what it is all about so we plan to not encourage or discourage it either.  He is really cute and sweet about it.

Everyone has a favorite Bible character.  For some it is Moses, the man that led the children of Israel out of the land of Egypt.  Others identify more with New Testament heroes like Paul and Peter.  I have to say that hands down my favorite persona of the Bible is David.  This man gives me hope like no other person I read about in the Scriptures.  David committed adultery, lied, and committed murder yet even after all these sins God forgave his repentant heart.  Not only did David receive forgiveness but he was later referred to “the man after God’s own heart!”  I know if my heart that even though I have not committed adultery or murder the sins I do commit look just as bad to a Holy God.  Yet God in his grace offers the same forgiveness he offered David to me.  I just have to except that free gift and ask for forgiveness with a truly repentant heart.  I close this post with a quotation from another hero of mine.  ”He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose” Jim Elliot

Leave a Reply

