July 9th

Monday July 9th, 1973
Limuru, Kenya
This morning we used the washing machine for the first time and it worked well.  We got a few more things out of the store room.  After lunch we went into town we took the boys by the Y.M.C.A. and let them swim.  It was cheaper to join for a year.  The water was rather cool.  M.G. and I went into town to do errands.  We were able to get the car greased, reported the phone out of order, picked up forms for M.G. to fill out for his ham radio license, made an appointment for me a perm, an appointment for me to see the dentist, appointment for M.G. to see Dr. Mary, and also for Alan to see her.  Tonight I went to a baby shower for Ann Wallace.

Wow, what a day!  Mom and Dad sure tried to pack a lot into one trip into town.  I guess that is what you do when town is at least an hour away.  We just lived about 20 miles from Nairobi but because of road conditions and such that could turn into an all day trip.  It is hard to think in those terms today because when I was in sales my territory covered almost 350 square miles.  Even today if you ask me to go 20 miles the decision is an easy one.

I am glad that Alan and I got dropped off at the “Y” because I know after seeing what Dad and Mom did we would have been worn out.

I am equally as glad that we missed out on the baby shower that evening.  Dad and the boys had men’s night at the ranch instead.

Leave a Reply

