July 1st

Tuesday July 1st, 1980
Limuru, Kenya
This morning I made mayonnaise so that I could make some salad dressing.  I made a batch of hamburger buns.  Ken went into town with Tommy Jones.  M.G., Ken, and Peter cut some more wood for ours is about finished.  Chuck Evans came by about lunch time, but would not eat.  He was going to work in the garage.  Ken went up there and helped him some.  Too, they welded our new grate for the fireplace.  We got a letter today from Lynn Burrow asking for recipes for Belinda Senter and Keith Kingsley who are getting married in August.

Homemade salad dressing takes on a whole new meaning when you have to make the mayonnaise to even start the recipe.  But Mom lived in Kenya and you do what you have to do.

Looks like I was a busy guy today.  Going to town, cutting wood, working on cars, WHAT?  Ken Duncan working on a car!   I do hope Chuck did not want the car to do much after I had gotten through with it.  To make matters worse they gave me the means to make fire and burn metal in the same day.  They have a rather coarse name for the type of welding I do.  But since this is a family friendly blog I will abstain from the use of such terminology.

Belinda, if you are reading this blog I would love to know what recipe Mom sent to you.

Leave a Reply

