June 5th

Monday June 5th, 1967
Mombasa, Kenya
This morning I tried to get everything back in place form the hunt.  I fixed spaghetti for lunch, and used some of the ground oryx meat.  This afternoon after finding out that we were to have station meeting tonight I shampooed my hair.  We met at the Dressen’s house.  M.G. has a church council meeting at 5 o’clock.  This afternoon I made a prune cake, but I didn’t think that is was so good for it seemed to have fell.

Living in a house with 3 boys I am sure things could get messed up.  Notice I said 3 boys, Dad, Alan, and me.

I would love to see the recipe for Oryx meat spaghetti.  Actually it did not taste bad at all just like real lean beef.

I do not know why having station meeting prompted Mom to shampoo her hair.  I tend to shampoo my hair every time I take a shower.  But there are many things that I don’t understand about women so I will not fret over lack of understanding.

Prune cake, that very name conjures up many different thoughts in my head.  I have to wonder if this was the only fruit in season or if there was some other sinister force at work here.  I am close to 47 years old and to my knowledge I have never made anything with a prune on purpose.  I have heard that with age comes wisdom so maybe when I get a little older the joy of prunes will become apparent.

Leave a Reply

