May 7th

Saturday, May 7th, 1977
Limuru, Kenya
This morning Ken rode in from
Kijabe with the Jones.  Eric Laffoon came in with him.  They enjoyed teaching Eric to ride the unicycle.  We left to go back to Kijabe about 5 o’clock and just as we got near to the soccer field the land-rover stopped on us.  Of course, it was pouring down the rain.  We ate our sandwiches in the land-rover.  We rode back with the Mitchells (the dentist who is going to Mbeya).  It was very foggy coming over the Rift, and we were behind two trucks most of the way.  M.G. saw Jim Davis just briefly.  Jim said that Alan said to tell us that he loved us.  Ken learned this week that he will serve at the banquet.

Ken and Eric hitch a ride with the neighbors for a quick trip home.  Both my brother and I went to boarding school during out high school years.  In order to come home during school even on weekends we had to obtain an “Off Campus Pass”.  These passes enabled the bearers to stay off campus between the hours of 6am and 6pm.  During the next few years our school relaxed this policy and would allow you to stay for the weekend every so often.

I have never been one to do the normal thing.  So, when I chose a mode of transportation I chose the unicycle.  When you combine this talent with my magic act you begin to understand “One Wheeled Magician The”. (Thanks again to Alan for my stage name!)  One of my favorite stories with the unicycle was when an African stopped me one day and asked where the brakes were located.

Car trouble was just part of the missionary gig I guess.  That is why Dad became a mechanic by necessity.  If you did not know how to fix things yourself they just did not get fixed.  Having driven behind trucks coming back from Kijabe on a foggy night I see now that my folks are due another hug next time I see them.

I was given the honor to serve food to the juniors and seniors at their banquet.  This shindig was a big deal at R.V.A. and the junior class worked all year to throw this big party for the seniors.  As a sophomore I was given the chance to serve as a waiter for the night.  Not really a bad deal because we got to eat any leftovers and Mom happened to be cooking at this soiree!

One Response to May 7th

  1. Eddie says:

    I’m not sure which of you looks more unhappy about getting ready to set sail on the S.S. Flouncypants. As I have pictures of me “graduating” from Christian clown school, I shall put down my rock lest my house be shattered.

Leave a Reply

