May 6th

Monday May 6th, 1968


Jerusalem, Israel
This morning we went to Bethlehem and saw the stable caves supposedly under the Inn where Jesus was born, Shepherd’s Field, Hebron Cave of Machpelah with a mosque built over it, potter making pots, Abraham’s altar near Hebron, Solomon’s pools, and Rachel’s tomb.  This afternoon we went to the Garden of Gethsemane, Church of Nations, Inn on the Jericho Road, Jericho, and the Dead Sea.  The boys went swimming in the water.  Alan and Ken had their picture made on a camel this morning.  This afternoon they rode a donkey and watched a man shearing a sheep.

I walked today were Jesus walked.  The dust that clung to my clothes could have been dusted off the soles of Peter’s sandals.  When I touched the trees at the Garden of Gethsemane who knows but that John slept beneath those very limbs.  Did I hear the faint echo of trumpets while we toured Jericho?  Did I realize that maybe in this very field shepherds saw angels declaring Christ’s birth?  And when I knelt in that stable, there was a real possibility that Mary and Joseph had welcomed my Savior to earth in that self same spot?  I would like to say that all these things and many more were running through my mind during our visit.  But if I am honest most of my thoughts centered on how hot I was, how cool it felt to ride a camel, and how you can really float high in the Dead Sea.  I am just glad that the Creator of the Universe did not look at that snot nosed little 7 year old and say, ”If you can’t appreciate what I did and what I am doing for you I am done with you!”

One of the many joys of being a M.K. (missionary kid) was all the cool places we got to see and visit on our trips to and from Africa.  I am sure that as we make this journey you will get to experience many of the places that most people only dream about.

Leave a Reply

