April 15th

Thursday, April 15th, 1971


Limuru, Kenya
This morning M.G. and I went into Nairobi and we took Robert with us.  He needed to get his glasses adjusted for they were hurting his ears.  He got them knocked out of line when he was in a fight the other week.
  Robert Ali started working with Mom and Dad in Mombasa.  When we came back to Africa from furlough he moved with us to Nairobi.  Evidently Robert’s pugilistic skills were not up to par for the weekend bout.   When we got home the boys were making themselves a sandwich for lunch.  Alan and Ken prepare sustenance for themselves from the larder of Margie Duncan.  Knowing my bother and his cooking ability I probably made the sandwiches.  This afternoon I went to Kibubuti.  This area is known for its coffee and flowers.  I live in Africa close to 15 years and I learn that Kibubuti is also known for its flowers?  I had to tell them that the material that they had chosen was sold out so I took some other samples for them to choose from.  If you spend any time on the African continent you will get used to the words “out of stock”.  They picked the one that M.G. chose.  The fact that the African women picked out the same material that Dad picked gives me some angst.  My dad is a brilliant person but he, like myself, cannot match clothes.  I tried cutting some patterns to fit them.  I tried in Nairobi to find another size of the pattern that I have.

4 Responses to April 15th

  1. Rebecca McBride says:

    I must say that I admire all women who sew! If it had been up to me, we would have all been in sack-cloths or worse.

  2. gene says:

    There is nothing like a womans touch especially Mom’s. Thank God you have a wife I bet that can match colors for you. Faye sure lets me know.

  3. Eddie says:

    What was your mom making here?

  4. margiesmanna says:

    Eddie,
    Mom was probably helping the ladies to make a dress. Maybe Dad can help clear this up after all he did pick the pattern! 😦

Leave a Reply

