April 2nd First Day In Kenya

 

Date 4/2/65
Niarobi, Kenya
(sic)

We got to Niarobi (sic) about 11:00am and were we tired.  Boyd & Syd Pierce, Dale & Beulah Hooper met us at he airport.  We met Ralph Harrell, Cummins, Jack & Dorothy Hull, and some others who work in the East African Mission.  Alan and Kenny were so glad to see some children and to play with their toys.  Alan & Kenny were so tickled to get into short pants.  Alan fell and hurt his head soon after we arrived.  It surely was a nice feeling to know that we had finally made it here. We ate lunch with the Pierce’s, and spent the night.  I felt a little homesick and lay thinking of all that we had left behind.

Nairobi, Kenya that is!  My mom travels halfway across the globe to do God’s work and does not even know how to spell where she landed.  That is faith!  However, on the bright side I can trace my lack of spelling ability directly to my ancestry!

You can tell my mom was concerned about her boys and their well being.  You can also bet that being on a plane for several hours with whiny young’uns was no picnic.  Dad and mom were most likely just as glad to see those same kids and their toys!

Yes Alan and Kenny arrive on the Dark Continent and the first thing they want to do is strip down to the bare essentials. 

Alan, true to his nature, is not on land but a few hours and ends up hurting himself.  This was to be a theme in my brother’s life for years to come.  I am sure we will see more on that later. 

Home is where you hang your hat even if is in the middle of Africa! 

During this journey you are most likely going to learn more than you ever wanted to know about the Duncan clan.  But thru all the funny, poignant, and motivating moments I hope to portray the true lady of faith that was my Mom!
 

8 Responses to April 2nd First Day In Kenya

  1. Cindy says:

    Thanks for doing this for those of us who never had the honor of knowing your Momma. I have a very special place in my heart for her.

  2. Eddie says:

    If Kenya is anything like Panama (the home of my youth), then “going native” isn’t an attempt to blend in so much as a survival technique. After you get off the plane, you expect Satan to be the one stamping your passport.

  3. Debbie says:

    Ken: This is a special project you are doing. I will really enjoy reading it.

  4. Jill says:

    How awesome to get to read the thoughts of an actual missionary as she and her family begin their service on the field. What a true blessing. Missions are dear to my heart and I am excited to get to read her daily thoughts and then even get to ask her son about them. Can’t wait for more!!

  5. Marshall Duncan says:

    Ken,
    I checked in earlier but did not leave a comment. It was good to see the picture. You did a good job of getting it from the slide. I’m glad you are doing this and will enjoy the coming ones as much as I have this first one

    Dad

  6. Judy says:

    Thanks for sharing your mother’s thoughts with us. I look forward to more blessings and wisdom from your mother.

  7. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

  8. Natalee says:

    I am an IMB MK and Grew up in Zambia, went to RVA when I was 12 and now I live in Carrollton Texas… I Love reading your mom’s thoughts… It really takes me home to read about her day to day experiences. Thank you for sharing her with me… as you know all the missionary adults are our aunts and uncles… It does not matter that I never met your family

Leave a Reply

